Brown secretary, E. J. Eardley chaplain and W. A. Wetzel ser-geant-at-arms. During the balloting spirited speeches were made. The delegates selected were A. G. Giauque, Thomas W. Green, R. S. Kimball and J. H. Poulton; alternates, S. H. Love and R. F. Butterworth. A vote of the neeting indicated that it was the unanimous choice that Arnold G. Giauque be nominated on the People's ticket.

### SEVENTH WARD.

David McKenzie was made chairman, and John E. Callister secretary. During the progress of balloting for delegates, speeches were made by Messrs. McKenzie, Dinwoodey, Van Dam, Moyle and others. The delegates chosen were David McKenzie, John E. Callister, Jas. H. Moyle and H. Van Dam; alternates, Wm. J. Woodbury and R. K. Thomas.

## EIGHTH WARD.

In this district John G. Smith was elected chairman, and C. L. Berry secretary. The balloting showed the election of John D. H. McAllister, John G. Smith and C. L. Berry as delegates. The delegates were instructed to vote for Wm. Groesbeck for member of the City Council

### NINTH WARD.

The chairman was Thomas Gerrard, with J. E. Evans as secretary.
J. M. Benedict, A. H. Woolley and
D. Houtz were elected delegates, and A. M. Woolley alternate.

# TENTH WARD.

Wm. Fuller was elected chairman and Jas. C. Woods, secretary. There weretwenty-two nominations for delegates: J. C. Woods, J. H. Paul, S. E. Baxter, J. S. Darke, G. A. McLean, S. A. Kenner, Geo. Buckle, J. J. Watton, Wm. Fuller, Adam Speirs, Jas. T. Strong, John Walsh, W. A. Rossiter, Wm. Taylor, W. E. Wickerst, F. W. Taylor, W. E. Wickerst, F. Wm. Taylor, W. E. Wickerst, F. W. Taylor, J. W. E. Wickerst, F. Wm. Taylor, J. W. E. Wickerst, F. W. E. Wickerst, F. W. E. Wickerst, F. W. E. Wickerst, F. W. E. W. E W. A. Rossiter, Wm. Taylor, W. E. Winkworth, Edward Braley, John Kirkman, Jos. Keddington, J. B. Taylor, Rodney Hillam, J. H. Freeman, Robt. Miller, A. S. Thomson, W. A. Strong. There were 69 votes and the first ballot elected B. A. Kenner, J. H. Paul and Wm. Fuller. On the third ballot G. A. McLean and Jas. C. Woods were elected, making the number allotted to the district.

### ELEVENTH WARD.

Francis Armstrong was elected chairman, J. G. Kelson secretary, J. H. Felt, chaplain, F. M. At-kins, sergeant-at-arms. Twentysix nominations were made. On the first ballot Willard Done and O. A. Woolley were chosen delegates; on the second ballot, H. A. Tuckett, A. McMaster, and Francis Arm-strong; on the fourth ballot F. M. This com-Atkins was chosen. pleted the number of delegates. The following gentlemen were elected as alternates: F. A. Mitchell, J. B. Bean and John H. Kelson. During the evening addresses, songs, etc., were given. The Eleventh Ward were given: The Eleventh War Drum Corps furnished the music.

# TWELFTH WARD.

balloting was ascertained it showed the result to be the election of J. G. Midgley, N. W. Clayton, E. G. Woolley and H. W. Spencer as delegates. The alternates are C. M. Nielson and T. A. Clawson.

## THIRTEENTH WARD.

The meeting elected D. J. Mackintosh chairman, and J. C. Jeusen secretary. Two ballots decided who should be delegates—D. S. Spencer, Alonzo Young, A. B. Dunford and F. S. Fernstrom. The alternates are D. J. Mackintosh and F. B. Platt.

#### FOURTEENTH WARD.

H. D. Folsom was made chairman and R. M. Wilkinson secretary. The election of delegates resulted in the election of Henry R. Richards, Frank Y. Taylor, Daniel Harring-ton and Andrew Bjorkman. The Alternates are George E. Bourne, P. W. Madsen, H. D. Folsom and H. S. Beatie.

### FIFTEENTH WARD.

Wan. S. Burton was chairman of the Fifteenth district primary, and E. L. Sloan secretary. The counting of the votes for delegates showed the olection of B. W. Ashton, J. G. Cutler, Thomas Hull, B. F. Cummings, Jr., T. F. Howells, J. E. Clark and J. E. Langford. Alternates: Barlow Ferguson, W. R. Jones, Jr., and W. C. Burton.

## SIXTEENTH WARD

The meeting selected Arthur Parsons chairman, Peter Gillespie vicechairman, and Niels Thompson secretary. Voting for delegates was proceeded with, and the following were elected: E. A. Folland, J. W. Summerhays, Arthur Parsons, Wm. Hodges, R. P. Morris, Wm. Spry, A. S. Geddes and S. F. Take. The alternates are T. E. Jeremy, C. J. Oberg, J. W. Phippin and W. J. Newman.

# SEVENTEENTH WARD.

In this district E. A. Smith was elected chairman of the primary, with C. B. Felt secretary. The meeting elected five delegates-J. Beatie, Joseph M. Watson, F. H. Hyde, D. F. Davis and E. A. Smith. Alternates, J. C. Sandberg and J. Z. Jacobs.

## EIGHTEENTH WARD.

An enthusiastic primary was also held in the Eighteenth District, the independent school house being occupied. R. S. Wells was elected chair. man, and H. G. Whitney secretary. There were twenty-five nominations, and the balloting resulted in the election of Richard W. Young, T J. McIntosh, J.D. Spencer, Chas. S. Burton and George D. Pyper. Dr. H. J. Faust, Robert Patrick, Senr., and H. G. Whitney were elected alternates. Patriotic and eloquent speeches were made by Messrs. H. J. Faust. R. W. Young, J. Nicholson, O. F. Whitney, Robert S. Campbell, B. S. Young, F. W. Jeunings, G. D. Pyper, T. J. McIntosh, J. D. Spencer, S. Clawson, S. Jacobs, W. B. Barton and C. S. Burton.

# NINETEENTH WARD.

secretary. When the result of the for delegates to the convention fell on the following: John N. Pike, B. W. Driggs, Jr., A. W. Carlson, J. E. Talmage. John H. Back and Henry Arnold. Alternates, Isaac Barton, Alex. Carr and Wm. Pin-

#### TWENTIETH WARD.

In this district H. M. Wells was made chairman and C. J. Brain secretary. The balloting gave for delegates Heber M. Wells, Edgar Howe, D. L. Murdock, Oliver Hodgson, Henry Puzey and James Sharp. Alternates, G. M. Ottinger and S. P. Teasdel.

#### TWENTY-FIRST WARD.

M. S. Woolley was elected chairman, William G. Westwood secretary, W. L. N. Allen chapain and James Maxwell sergeant-at-arms, In the balloting delegates were chosen as follows: William J. Tuddenham, S. Woolley, William Bywater, William Longmore, Thomas Goodman, J. Fewson Smith, Jr. and Wm. J. A. Timms. Alternates,—John Burt, J. Fewson Smith and Josiah Burrows. The delegates were instructed to use their influence to secure the renomination of J. Fewson Smith as a city councilor and the nomination of Wm. Calder for city marshal.

### TWENTY-SECOND WARD.

This portion of the Nineteenth District held its primary meeting at the appointed hour, in the schoolhouse. John L. Nebekar was elected chairman, Arthur Winter secreed chairman, Arthur Winter secretary and John Lees chaplain. The following named gentlemen were elected as delegates to the convention: Osear H. Hardy, Andrew Kimball, Jos. R. Matthews, Matthew Noall, Wm. Spicer, Jos. S. Grow and John F. Peterson. The alternates elected are: F. E. Margetts, Samuel Holmes, Oliver R. Ostler, Wm. Stoneman and H. P. Nielson.

### JUDICIAL INCONGRUITY.

THE decision of the Supreme Court of Utah in regard to the officers to be elected in this city, so far as it goes, appears to be good law. But it leaves the main quesion in a very unsatisfactory condition. If the officers to be elected are those named in the act of the last Territorial Legislature, then the manner of electing them must be such as is prescribed in that law. But a former decision of the same court rules to the contrary on the latter point, and thus the two decisiona are incongruous.

The law providing that under certain conditions the municipal government to be elected in a city of the first class shall be a mayor and fifteen councilmen, three from each ward, also provides that "The mayor shall be chosen by the qualifiel voters of their respective cities, and the councilnien shall be chosen T. V. Williams was made chairman, Wm. M. Stewart vice-chairman and B. W. Driggs, Jr., secreman, and Horace G. Cummings tary. The choice of the meeting respective wards." The court now