of commissions to the persons elected, but does not provide that they shall hold office or be entitled to their office upon qualifying under the Governor's commission; and in order to determine the time of taking possession of the office we must consider section 36 in connection with section 9 of article 4 of the Constitution, which fixes the first monday in January next following the date of election as the commencement of the term of all officers elected at the general elec-tion, it is therefore my opinion that the judges of the Third judicial dis-trict, elected at the late general elec-tion (hereing here betted) (having been elected to fill the tion. unexpired terms of Judges Howat and Young resigned) at the general election, cannot legally take possession of the office and discharge the duties thereof until the first Monday in January, 1897.

Very respectfully yours, A. C. BISHOP, Attorney Generaal.

ELECTION RESULTS.

The Republicaus will in all probability have but two members of the Legislature, Kimpall of Carbor, and Rubison of Kane, the Populists three and the Democrate fit three and the Democrate fity eight, an aggregate number that will .a.n give the Damograts full and com-plete swing in their work. Returns roceived to date show that the following have been elected to the upper branch:

DEMOCRATS.

First District-W. G. Nebeker. Second District-Joseph Mouson. Third District-Aquilla Nebeker. Fourth District-L. W. Shurtliff, Daniel Hamer.

- Fifth District-R. C. Ohambers Sixth District-Martha H. Cannon, David C. Rideout Jr., George A. Whit-
- aker, John T. Caines Seventh District-A. O. Smoot, A. J.

Evans Eighth District-Joseph V. Robinson.

Tenth District-James F. Allred, Tenth District-Isaao K. Wright, Eleventh District-E. H. Snow. Twelfth District-M. E. Johnson,

POPULIST

Sixth District-B. A. Harbour. Total, Democrats, 17; Populist, 1; grand total, 18.

To the House the following have been elected:

DEMOCRATS.

Beaver County-W. L. H. Dotson. Cache County-Joseph Kimball, I. C.

Cache County-Joseph Kimhall, I. O. Thoreson, Moroni Price. Davis County-Hyrum Stewart. Emery County-P. L. Overson. Iron County-John Parry. Juab County-C. B. Wheeler. Millard County-William A. Ray. Salt Lake County-E. K. Wilson, Eurithe K. La Barthe, George Romney Jr., Joseph E. Taylor, Heber Bennion, R. W. Sloan, S. A. Kenuer, R. B. Shep-ard.

ard. Sanpete County-Aaron Hardy, N. C.

Sorenson. County-Barney H. Green-Sevier

wood. Summit County-Charles A. Collis,

Tooele County—Onaries A. Collis, Tooele County—N. B. Dresser. Uintab County—William Gibson. Utah County—W. M. Roylance, L. P. und, W. O. Creer, Hyrum Lemon. Wasstch County—Joseph R. Mordock. Lund.

Washington County-James G. Durfin, Indicating that the Bryan electors

Weber County-W. H. O'Brien, John M. Perkins, Angns McKay, Mrs. S. E Anderson.

POPULISTS.

Salt Lake County-James Thompson, Daniel Morgan. REPUBLICANS.

Carbon County-Oliver G. Kimball.

Etres. Third...... Fourth County Precincts Total...... MUNICIPAL \$ ARDS Store Armstrong, D Oounty Martin Obristopherson, R 1344 654 695 A 8 Geddes, B 1363 757 809 Commissioners Lucius E Hall, D 2024 2590 1429 1264 1264 50 Samuel Perry, B. TE 1613 1613 946 946 Joseph S Rawlins, D 02 149 149 130 130 1320 173 David C Dunbar, D E Oterk Ŧ Ξ Alfred C Reese, R. 00 Treasurer Stephen H Lynch, D 1051 1051 č 2 John D Spencer, B 175 880 973 YT Margaret & Caine, D ADDITOF 952 952 TICK IM Fisher, R 1421 W Scott Orismon, R Recorder 1294 793 996 James O Jensen, D 1492 Arthur H Parsons, R A 55 CI 134 160 160 134 134 Barney B Quinn, D BOF 1843 2522 136 138 138 138 Harry S Joseph, R 80 129 LAGA GL Obarles S Wilkes, D 2440 Attorney George LNye, R 1513 789 789 239 Waldemar Van Oott, D 052 Peter S Condie, R 1253 1697 784 787 784 Sheriff TUBOH

Returns on presidential electors and congressman are in from all the important cousties, some of the smaller ones not having been received yet. Here is the result as far as received,

where the set of the mark

will have near 50,000 msjority, and that King, Democrat, will have about 20,000 plurality over Holbrook, Repubdean. The Populist vote polls under 2 000:

	Presiden-		Representatives		
	tial		to		
	Electors.		Congress.		
		1 m	1.11	1	
Counties.		9	1		
	an		2		ы
	00		9	.8	1 2
	Å.	0	Holbrook		080
	8		L =		Dia
Beaver	1,049	266	088	637	
Box Elder	754	524	664	618	1
Cache	5,621	1,135	1,295	4,484	211
Qarbon	485	50	321	339	
Davis	1,013	326	479		25
Emery	1,739	898	300	700	
Garfield	Januar		******		· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·
Grand	58		85		2
Iron	1,071	252			17
Juah	2,462	169	973	1,88	39
Kane	66		101	63	
Millard	791		340	497	
Morgan	152	85	67	107	******
Plate		*****		*****	
Bich	10 80.0	A 110	10.700	111111	608
San Juan,	16, 799	2,838	6, 769	11,807	000
Sappete	3,120	1,738	2.318	2,070	···'ii
Sevier	1,805			1.321	
Summit	3,130		915	2.013	113
Tooele	8 3	109	554	911	110
Uintah	828	111	201	530	254
Utab.	5,179		1,859	2.175	64
Wasatch	882	89	271	675	
Washington	751	83	151	731	2
Wayne				*****	
Weber	6,235	1,878		0.00	432
Total	55,011	11.766	21,569	38,611	1,780

LAKETOWN, November 4, 1896.

Following find the number of votes cast (based on judges' reports) in Lake-town, Rich county, Utah:

Electors-Bryan: Daly 50; Lawrence 50; Lund 48. McKiniey: Bennett 22; Page 28; Bmith 28.

Congressman-W. H. King D 48 Lafayette Holbrook R 28; Warren Fuster P 1.

State Senator-Aquila Nebeker D 55; Lucy H. Clark R 17. Member of House of Representatives

D. S. Cook D 86; A. W. Nebeker R 81.

County Commissioners-Joseph Weston D 54; George Pope R 46; John Kennedy D 41; P. Johnson R 24; W. H. Lee D 23; A. E. Eastman R 20.

County Cierk-Wm, Rex D 41; O.

Jacobsen R 29. C unty Recorder-Mary A. South R 42; Mary F. Snelby D 80.

County Assessor-Samuel Weston

R 65; Eugene Kimbali D 8. County Attorney-J. W. f thwafte R 47; Ezskiel Les D 24. Batter-

County Burveyor-J. H. Neville D 40; G. H. Galbraith K 28.

County Sheriff-C. C. Kearl D 87; D. S. Marshall R 85.

Precinct Ticket: Justice lo the Prace-Manaesen Keuri (Citizens') 22; scattering: J. Robiuson 16; George Weston 5; E. G. Lamborn 1. Consta-George ble-Orson Pratt Battertnwaite (Oitizens') 25; scattering: John Weston 11; G. Tuomson 6; E. G. Lamborn 1.

PRIESTHOOD MEETING.

The Priestbood of the Balt Lake Stake of Zi n convered in the As-sembly Hall, Sait Lake City, today (Saturday) at 11 a.m., Elder A agus M. Cannon presiding; siso present Coun-selors Joseph E. Taylor and Charles W. Pentose.

The meeting commenced with singing and prayer, after , which the roll