good character and proper and suitable persons for the duty to be performed, withont inquiring as to the religious or sectarian views of such persons, but only as to their qualifications and present political affiliations.

This was adopted by the following vote:

Ayes-Godfrey, Saunders, Robert. 8010.

Nay-McClernand. CommissionerMcClernand moved to amend the substitute as follows:

Provided, That the political affiliation of any person shall not be in itself a cause for excluding him from appoinment as a

registrar or election officer. And provided further. That the com-mission will, in making such appoint-ments act fairly and equitably in respect to the different political parties in the territory.

Rejected by the following vote, Ayes, McClernand; nays, Godfrey: Baunders and Robertson.

The following deputy registrars have been appointed:

RICH COUNTY. Woodruff-Thos. Frazer, R. Randolph-A. B. Nebeker, R. Laketown-John Nebeker, R. Laketown-John Nebeker Meadow ville-Geo. T. Judd, R. Garden City-Edward Calder, R. BEAVER COUNTY. Beaver-W. P. Smith, R. Greenville-Wm. Harts, R.

Adamsville-John J. Jones, R. Minersville-John Lightner, R. Star Precinct-W. J. Kennedy, R. Grampion-David James, R.

UINTAII COUNTY. Ashley-Richard Veltman, L. D. Vernal-John Blankenship, L. R. Mountain Dell-Peter M. Cole, L. R

Riverdale-Wm. H. Burton, L. R. CACHE COUNTY.

Logan-G. H. Keysor, R. Logan-L. D. Marliu, R. Providence-Mark Fletcher, R. Millville-Joseph Hovey, R. College-C. C. Bendreep, jr., R. Hyrum-C. H. Bevans, R. Paradise-Dan Beckmore, R. Wellsville-Samuel P. Hall, R. Mendon-Fred Larsen, R. Peterbaro-Peter Peterson, R. Peterbero-reter Feterson, R. Benson-Robert Hawthorne, R. Newton-John A. Christianson, R. Clarkson-Frank Griffith, R. Trenton-Cliff C. Goodwin. Coucyille-Herchell Bullin, jr.; P., Bichords percented O. Richards appointed.

Richmond-Jehn Anderson, R. Smithfield-Newton Woodruff, R. Lewiston-John W. Knowles, R. Hyde Park-Steven Thurston, R. La Platto-Joseph Watson, R.

SEVIER COUNTY. Salina-Fred. G. Willie, R. Redmond-Henry McKenna. Gooseberry-J. A. Irul, R. Millard Bend-J. W. Irul, R. Virmillion-Michael Kane, R. Glenwood-William Rhodes, R. Richfield-August Neilson, R. Ekinera-R. W. Herring, R. Richfield-August Neison, R. Elsinore-R. W. Herring, R. Central-Andrew Nelson, R. Monroe-Walter Jones, R. Joseph-R. A. Bridgers, R. Burrville-W. H. Shock, R. Anna Bell-L. Thompson, R. KANE COUNTY.

Orderville-Richard Norwood. Mount Carmel-H. S. Jolly. Johnson-Nephi Johnson, Jr. Georgetown-Joseph A. Stewart.

## SANPETE.

Mt. Pleasant-Jensen, L. R. Moroni-N. L. Eliason, L. R. Fairview-Sam Porter, L. R. Millburn-Orson Kelsey, D. Fountain Green-J. A. Holman, R. Spring City-Jacob Johnson, L. R. Bpring City—Jacob Johnson, L. Chester—J. Conrad, D. Ephraim—Peter Schwalt, L. R. Manti—E. W. Fox, L. R. Petty—George D. Peacock, jr. Gunnison—R. Christensen, L. R. Fayette—G. M. Clarke, L. R. Mayfield—Henry Jenson, R. Wales-H. C. Lamb, D.

TOOELE COUNTY. TOOELE COUNTY. Mill-William Glassman, R. Grantaville-William Rydalch, jr., R. Balesville-Alfred Warr. Lakeview-Charles Warr, R. Tooele-Robert Scott, R. Stockton-David R. Stover, R. Ophir-A. S. Lineback, R. St. John-Edward J. Arthur, R. Clover-R. N. Bush, D. Vornon-L. Strasbury, R. Granite-John T. Delare, R. Deep Creek-Fred Snively, R.

UTAH COUNTY. Alpine-Lewis Lewis, L. D. American Fork-A. K. Thornton, L.R.

Benjamin-John Hone, L. R. Cedar Fork-John McFarland L.

Clinton-H. B. Hicks, D. Fairfield-William Thomse, L. R. Lehi-Robert Gilchrist, L. R. Lateview-W. G. Williams, L. R. Lateview-H. S. Brooks, L. R. Pleasant Grove-John Richins, L.  $\mathbf{R}$ 

R. Provo Bench-D. C. Daniels, L. D., scratched, and Newell Knight, L. R. Provo-R. A. Hills, L. R. Springville-D. C. Huntington, L. R. Spanish Fork-Theodore Lee, L. R. Goshen-George White, R. Salem-W. H. Taylor, L. R. Santaquin-John C. Johnson, L. R. Spring Lake-John C. Warfield, L. R R Thistle-W. H. Rager, Herman

Snow, R. P. V. Juncton-P. A. Smith, L. R. Payson-James T. Stark, L. R.

GRAND COUNTY. No. 1-Henry Crouse, Moab, L. No. 2-Charles J. Elliott, L. No. 8-B. A. Terwilleger, L. No. 4-H. H. Jacob.

MILLARD COUNTY. Kanosh-E. W. Penney. Meadow-John Streider. Holden-Nicholas Paul. Scipio-Andrew Peterson. Scipio—Andrew Peterson. Leamington—Joseph Overson. Oasis—John Styler. Deseret—James H. Mace. Oak City—J. A. Lyman. Hinckley—George A. Black. Smithville—W. O. Barry. Burbank-Charles Rowlands. Fillmore-John Kelly.

DAVIS COUNTY. South Weber-Joseph Earl, L. South Weber-Joseph Earl, L. South Hooper-Adam Smith, L. Layton-Jos. H. Allen, L. Kaysville-T. Francis Rouche, R. Farmington-Dr. D. Wilcox, L. Centreville-Wm. J. Cheeney, R. Bountiful-William J. Boulton, L. "West-Andrew Grant, L. "Bouth-Luther L. Burn-

ham, L.

WASHINGTON COUNTY. Silver Reef-Silas W. West, L. Leeds-David McMillin, R. Leeds-David McMillin, K. Washington-Andrew Shrowles, D. St. George-Alex Fullerton, D. Santa Clara-Rudolph Frei, R. Bioomington-Geo. M. Fawcett, R. Gunlock-Franklin O. Holt, R. Pine Valley-G. E. Burgess, R. Hebron-Chas. H. Barnhum, R. Hamblin-Moroni Canfield, R. Piato. Robert Knell R. Hamonn-Booten Knell, R. Pinto-Robert Knell, R. New Harmony-Jas. F. Pace, R. Toquerville-Martin Slauk, R. Duncan's Retreat-G. W. Wright, D. Virgin City-John H. Lee, D. Grafton-Daniel Morris, Jr., R. Rockville-Frank T. Slaughter, R. Shonesburg-Oscar DeMill, D. Springdale-Samuel K. Gifford, D.

BOX ELDER.

Box Elder-James Sheffield, R. Bear River-George S. Church, R. Collinston-L. W. Standing, R. Calls Ford-Israel Hansaker, R. Deweyville-John Germer, R. Grouse Creek-B. H. Cooke, D. Junction-John Lu d, D. Malad-Ed. E. Spencer, R. Malad-Ed. E. Spencer, K. Mantua-Hyrum Jensen, R. Portage-Charles T. Gibbs, R. Promontory-I. G. Brown, R. Park Valley-W. H. Meachem, R. Plymouth-E. Stoddard, K. Curlew-M. Ducheltrie, R. Terrace-John E. Henderson, R. Three Mile Creek-Wm. Housley,

R Millard-Peter Lowe, R.

JUAB COUNTY. JUAB COUNTY. Nephi—T. A. Foote, R. Levan—Charles Mangleson, R. Mona—James H. Mendenhall, R. Juab—James E. Taylor, D. Eureka—John Duggan, L. Eureka—John Duggan, L. Mammoth-Pat Condon, L. R

Mammotn-Fat Condon, L. R. Tintic-Joseph Biddlecome, R. Fish Springs-F. C. Morehouse, R. When the appointment, by the Utah Commission, of deputy registrars for Sait Lake county was reached last evening General McClemand offered the following resolution:

Whereas, There are \_\_\_\_\_ deputy regis-trars to be appointed for the precincts in

trars to be appointed for the precincts in Sait Lake county; and Whereas, It is but fair and consistent with the law that those appointments should be equitably distributed among the different political parties in the coun-ty, therefore be it Resolved, That such appointments shall be made in harmony with the facts barein stated.

herein stated.

The introduction of the resolution occasioned some little discussion and was defeated on the following vote: Ayes-McClernand, 1.

Nays-Godfrey, Robertson, 2. The list compiled and sent in by County "Liberal" Registrar J. F. Allen was then taken up and the appointments therein recommended made without change.

BALT LAKE OITY. First Procinct-E. W. Loder, L. R.; W. W. Second Precinct-C. M. Hammond, L. R.; O. S. Kimbail, L. R., Ben Johnson, L. R. Third Precinct-L, J. Starbuck, L. R.; W. D. Dace, L. R. Fourth Precinct-John T. Axton, L. R. Fifth Precinct-L. D. Lee, R.; D. Van Sus-kirk, L. R.

BALT LAKE COUNTY.

The appointments for the county are as follows:

Big Cottonwood-James Spillett, L. R. Butler-Vincent Shurtliff, Jr. L. R.